Snowmobile in Whistler Canada

What can a good dose of crazy + inexperience + adrenaline junkie = ?… A trip to Whistler in Canada and snowmobiling through the mountains of course!

Vancouver to Whistler Canada

Vancouver to Whistler Canada

So the few hour drive from Vancouver to Whistler started. As I had to arrive by 11am we didn’t stop to take photos, so I took many along the road as we carved through snow capped mountains.

Vancouver Mountains

Beautiful Snowy Mountains of Canada

So when I tell this story, I often get told I’m crazy, or at least I know they are thinking it. I have never ridden a snowmobile before, or jet-ski, motorbike or any other off road machines. However, I thought to myself, I have only one day to see Whistler… I cannot ski, and I cannot snowboard, and I really want to see the scenery. So I booked myself in to snowmobile, but! I skipped the beginners tour and went straight to the Intermediate, I’d see more that way, right?

Correct!!

It was the most dangerous thing I have done (although some would say escaping a charging rhino is pretty dangerous too – context I worked at zoo).

Snowmobile Tour Company Canada:

Canadian Wilderness Adventures (ph: 604.938.1616) took me on this tour and it’s not for the faint hearted, and there’s no backing out once you are out there. You need to be 16 + and have a drivers license, also being physically fit is recommended.

I HIGHLY recommend this experience, a fantastic team and with all gear, snowmobile, and 3 hour trip included. To snowmobile with Canadian Wilderness Tours it cost roughly $280 canadian dollars and it was well worth the experience. It was physically exhausting and you did feel like you had done 10 reps of 100 pull ups and push ups and ached for days after.

200cm of snow, wow! Talk about a full week of huge snow dumps and then becoming fine and sunny when I went out there. A high avalanche risk day it was perfect to carve huge snow waves with the machines. As we climbed higher to the summit there was more ice on the snow and it became quite treacherous when taking tight hard corners.

Before we even got up to that difficult point, I came off my machine when a small snow wall collapsed underneath me. The safety cord slipped straight off my hand instead of coming out of the machine, so I must have looked hilarious chasing down my snowmobile. The tour guide came straight over to check on me, I had pockets full of snow but that was about it!

Ski-Doo Snowmobile Tour Whistler

Ski-Doo – Canadian Wilderness Adventures Ph: 604.938.1616

On my Ski-Doo our first stop at a frozen lake before continuing up the mountains.

After just falling off taking a picture half way up the mountain.

Ski-Doo Canadian Wilderness Adventures – Slightly shaken after just falling off this Snowmobile!

The view of the valley was totally breathtaking. From here on the journey became dangerous

Canadian Whistler Mountain Ranges – The view of the valley. The Adventure became dangerous past this point

The snow was so deep and soft on Mt. Callaghan, Canada.

The snow was so deep and soft on Mt. Callaghan, Canada. Amazing Photography Opportunities

Canadian Wilderness Adventures Tour Guide going back to look for someone

Views like this all the way was amazing, until we got into the thick of the trees and the extremely steep terrain after this.

Views like this all the way was amazing, until we got into the thick of the trees and the extremely steep terrain after this.

We stopped, almost at the top, this is the final frozen lake we tore up in our machines. Note the size of those trees compared to the snowmobile.

Peak of Mt. Callaghan is 2409m high

We stopped, almost at the top, this is the final frozen lake we tore up in our Ski-Doo machines. Note the size of those trees compared to the snowmobile. If you look at the snow you can see all the tracks we carved into the mountains with our Ski-Doo Snowmobiles! Good fun!

Looking at Whistler, we took a small shuttle bus to Mt. Callaghan (bottom left).

Looking at the map of Whistler, we took a small shuttle bus to Mt. Callaghan that stands 2409m high, bigger then Whistler (bottom left).

Also, despite having never ridden anything like it before, I was never the last in the pack, keeping up with the group and I was told I was a ‘natural’… maybe they didn’t see me fall off? haha. The down hill journey was the most epic, seeing the scenery in front of you rather then behind and being able to go much faster, it was fantastic. The machines can reach 100km but due to the conditions of the track we couldn’t go quite that fast. There are many amazing photography opportunities and I did keep my camera in my pocket.

Whistler seems to be more popular for the snowboarders this season then the skiers.

Whistler seems to be more popular for the snowboarders this season then the skiers.

Walking around the village afterwards.

Whistler Village

At the base of the run looking back at the village

At the base of the Whistler run looking back at the village.

We stopped at a few places on the way back to Vancouver, this was just one of the many stunning locations.

It was freezing so I sent my friend out to take photos of this beautiful spot! hah.

Beautiful scenery return drive from Whistler to Vancouver, Canada.

Had my friend take the photos while I rested, exhausted from the day!

Return Journey from Whistler to Vancouver, Canada.

Amazing and beautiful scenery

Return Journey from Whistler to Vancouver, Canada. Amazing Photography Opportunities

2 thoughts on “Snowmobile in Whistler Canada

Share Your Thoughts..

