COEX Aquarium, Seoul, South Korea

Well why not go to the place that holds  40,000 creatures from over 650 species on display? And if you want to experience scuba diving without actually donning a suit and getting wet, then this will be as close as you can get.

Now COEX isn’t just all fish.. no they have a small “jungle” themed section with monkeys, tropical plants and elsewhere there are some prairie dogs chucked in for good measure. There are Beavers, penguins, dugong and chipmunks? (squirrels maybe),  OH! And you will find fish in the fridge, washing machine, toilet bowl, kitchen skin, telephone booth and chilling with spider man! This section of unique places to hold a fish is referred to as the “Wonderland” and yes, COEX has thought of it all!

In the Little Mermaid I'm sure this phone booth would have been quite fitting

In the Little Mermaid I’m sure this phone booth would have been quite fitting

Talk about fresh fish!!

Talk about fresh fish!!

In Wonderland these happy fish looked like they were about to break out into a disney melody!

In Wonderland these happy fish looked like they were about to break out into a disney melody!

 

Is this a Chipmunk or a Squirrel? It was having a good work out that morning!

Is this a Chipmunk or a Squirrel? It was having a good work out that morning!

These were comical and very entertaining. I feel that they may never get used to people watching them, I think they were just as intrigued by us.

These were comical and very entertaining. I feel that they may never get used to people watching them, I think they were just as intrigued by us.

You will walk through the following themes without completely realising you have and theres only one way to walk so you won’t miss anything.

  • The Inca Empire
  • Amazonian World
  • Seven Seas
  • Ocean Kingdom
  • Marine Touch
  • Undersea Tunnel

Located conveniently in the large COEX shopping complex it is not hard to miss with the long line that happened to wrap around part of the shops on the day we visited. However, once you are in side it didn’t seem too crowded until you wanted to watch the daily feeding show.. *cranes neck high* but we did happen to stumble across it last minute, wondering why we suddenly had the aquarium to ourselves? That show is a must see. This show happens at the central tunnel tank that contains 2000tons of water. It winds around in a very large square shape and theres a slow motored floor for the pensive.. or lazy in my case. It has a huge display window on one side where the fish tucker (food) is thrown in for the sea turtles, sharks, sting and manta rays and those few fish lucky enough to get a nibble.

That adult hand gives you a good perspective of the sheer size of this stingray.

That adult hand gives you a good perspective of the sheer size of this stingray.

Mean, lean, killing machine!

Mean, lean, killing machine!

Feeding Frenzy, make sure to put your arm in the air to snap pictures of theses if you are late on arrival!

Feeding Frenzy, make sure to put your arm in the air to snap pictures of theses if you are late on arrival!

Around the exhibits 40% of the fish tanks would have an english description next to what was inside. However, I did giggle at some of the spelling mistakes and phrases used (I’ll admit sometimes I’m not much better).  Unfortunately, I didn’t pick the best example to take a photo of, but.. I don’t want to spoil the fun for you ;).

This was one of the examples of mistakes in the English, one of the few with an explanation on the creatures.

This was one of the examples of mistakes in the English, one of the few with an explanation on the creatures.

What's on today's menu... I mean.. these are some of the fish and sea creatures you will see in the large tunnel tank.

What’s on today’s menu… I mean.. these are some of the fish and sea creatures you will see in the large tunnel tank.

Most of the signs would look like this, so you would get the name in English.

Most of the signs would look like this, so you would get the name in English.

There are a few interactive points for the adventurous who want to get the dead skin cleaned off their hands! You can walk over, under and alongside all marine life that come from various locations around the world.

Below is the last exhibit you will see when walking out, and its a popular one, so be prepared to stop although your feet may be longing to rest as you ride up the escalator, take the time to look at these beautiful and animated Penguins.

Now I don't suggest doing this.. as I couldn't figure out of it was entertaining or distressing for the penguins. People were giggling anything metal against the glass and the penguins were giving it their best effort to get to it. This child is rubbing a cigarette lighter to the glass, which I wouldn't suggest was the wisest idea either!

Now I don’t suggest doing this.. as I couldn’t figure out of it was entertaining or distressing for the penguins. People were giggling anything metal against the glass and the penguins were giving it their best effort to get to it. This child is rubbing a cigarette lighter to the glass, which I wouldn’t suggest was the wisest idea either!

This just looked like the tank from Happy Feet although a terrible photo.

This just looked like the tank from Happy Feet although a terrible photo.

So below are some more photos, I would really recommend visiting while in Seoul. There was another large aquarium in Busan, however, I felt that once I had visted COEX, I had seen it all. Overall I think it was a good experience, a little more english would have been helpful, however thankfully I had a Korean friend with the patients to interpret for me.

I was quite glad this feller was on the other side of the glass. Seemed like he was having a bad day.

I was quite glad this feller was on the other side of the glass. Seemed like he was having a bad day.

Quite unusual, genetic defect but very pretty.

Quite unusual, genetic defect but very pretty.

Well they have their own glass cleaners here!

Well they have their own glass cleaners here!

I'll pass him my lettuce next time! It was interesting to watch them use their fins to feed them selves and like legs to walk along the tank floor

I’ll pass him my lettuce next time! It was interesting to watch them use their fins to feed them selves and like legs to walk along the tank floor

Slow and steady wins the race like a giant cow in the sea these somewhat subdued Dugongs were munching on some lettuce leaves.

Slow and steady wins the race like a giant cow in the sea these somewhat subdued Dugongs were munching on some lettuce leaves.

The fish were quite photogenic here.

The fish were quite photogenic here.

Many of these pretty fish you will find at the Great Barrier Reef in Queensland, I saw many when I went diving there once.

Many of these pretty fish you will find at the Great Barrier Reef in Queensland, I saw many when I went diving there once.

The tank would change colours and so would the jellyfish. They looked best in red.

The tank would change colours and so would the jellyfish. They looked best in red.

Just liked this fish!

Just liked this fish!

How their tentacles did not tangled with one another was beyond me

How their tentacles did not tangled with one another was beyond me

Share Your Thoughts..

